The Lonely Sea

Another Holga shot. I was excited about taking this shot because it was my first attempt at a long, “bulb,” exposure with my Holga. It didn’t come out how I expected it, but I liked the result. That’s half the fun of using a Holga.

The photo is of a full moon rising over the ocean as seen from Abaco Island. I like how a silhouette of a solitary cloud can be seen just above the reflection of the moon in the ocean.

For anyone that has only used digital cameras and never ventured to film (or only used film briefly) I highly suggest giving it a try. It forces you to think more about your photo before you take it and there is the excitement of how “flaws” of film may create that one-of-a-kind image. I love digital, but sometimes they are too perfect.

Leave a Reply

