A New Season

Wow. It’s been a long time since I’ve put up anything new. Sorry I’ve been so disappointing to all of my adoring fans…Anyways, I have still been taking pictures, but have been finding any excuse not to go through them or post any. I’m not really sure why.

A lot and nothing has been going on. A job has ended, waiting on a new job to start, and I’ve really ramped up my running (close to 150 miles for the year so far). A few trips have come and gone, Cleveland and Chicago, but I think it’s time I put some time back into photography. And now that I have, I did miss it.

Spring is really here now; cool breezes, afternoon showers, and everything else that goes along with it. It also means baseball season is here. I had the great opportunity to go to the Cubs’ home opener at Wrigley Field. Baseball and I have been like this (my fingers are crossed) forever, and to be able to go the “old school” field was amazing.

A stadium is packed with blue, where vendors yell out, “Hot Dogs!” and “Ice Cold Beer!” strangers high-five each other after the long ball is hit, an organ plays “Take me out to the ball game” as the crowd rocks back and forth singing along. Peanut shells crunch under foot to the smell of spilled Old Style beer and slightly burnt nacho cheese, while cheers and cries of outrage fill the air after a close play at first. That’s what baseball is all about. The only thing that was missing was my baseball glove for that slight chance of a foul ball hit my way. The cubs even came away with a win. I loved every minute of it.

This is a photo of Ryan Dempster, the starting pitcher, throwing a pitch from the stretch.

Leave a Reply

