Step…Step…

I miss it, that rhythmic feeling of putting one foot down in front of the other. The wind on my face and only my heart rate and how far I can push myself on my mind.

I miss running.

I’ve been fighting injuries off and on for a while now. The most recent one was from a 5k. I had just started to get back into running a bit and I heard some people from work were going to do a run. It had been about a year since I’d been in a race, so I was aching to get back into it.

The day of the race came and I kept on going over my strategy in my head, “Slow. I need to take it nice and easy. Just use it as a workout and take the time to enjoy running with people again.”

I went through my warm-up and did some stretches. Then came the call to go up to the line, my heart started beating a bit faster.

As I walked up to the start I looked around at who else was running. I was standing in the middle of the group, where my strategy was telling me to stay for a nice, solid workout. Then my mind quietly said, “You can take them.”

“What? This is supposed to be a workout, not a race. I’ve got to ease my way back into this.”

“This is a race. R-A-C-E. You’re supposed to go after it, try and beat people.”

“But, I…”

“Just move to the front of the starting line and see how you feel,” my mind said. How could I argue? I mean the logic was sound, and it had been so long since I raced. It’s just a 5k.

Needless to say, when the gun went off I had my sights set on the lead pack. It felt great to be racing. Pushing myself, trying to get the next person in front of me.

I took ninth place, but I also took home a hurt foot.

I can’t wait to get back out on the road.

2 responses to “Step…Step…

  1. Pingback: My Top Five 2011 Posts « Id Est·

Leave a Reply

