Gallery: Toledo Zoo 2

Okay, one more gallery for now. I just got a new computer, which will let me move a little faster through the editing process and do a few more CPU intensive tasks. I’m also very excited about editing some videos and posting those up here (I got an HD Hero 2 camera for Christmas and can’t wait to start using it).

This is another collection of animals from my time at the Toledo Zoo (if you couldn’t guess from the title).

As I look at these now on a different monitor, I feel like a few of these photos might be a bit over-saturated. I still like the way they turned out and I really enjoyed taking these photos. Animals are always fun to take pictures of. You never know what they are going to do and, unlike most people, they don’t get self-conscious during a photo shoot (except for my dog who runs and hides the moment I put my camera up to my eye).

Out of this batch I think I like the meerkat, hippo, and polar bear the most. I caught the meerkat in an odd pose and I liked the texture of the ear and skin on the hippo. I’m not really sure why I’m drawn to the polar bear photo; the bear kind of seems out of place, as if it just wandered into the frame on accident.

New photos coming soon (or so I keep promising myself).

One response to “Gallery: Toledo Zoo 2

  1. I’m not generally a fan of zoo photography, but your images are well composed and generally A-OK.

    Be that done in post processing or in-camera matters not.

    Btw… if you stand further back from the fence and use a telephoto lens you can make a chain-link fence totally disappear in images like the white tiger (or whatever the animal is) in your first image.

    All in all… I like what you did.

Leave a Reply

