Geometry

The black and white photo from Vegas inspired me to go back and look at my old black and white photos (it didn’t take long, since I don’t have too many).

Here are a few from old posts that had the same subject: shape and form.

I also found one I hadn’t posted from a D.C. subway.

I don’t take too many photos like this and I think it could be a great exercise to go out and take photos focusing only on the abstract shape. Most of the time I try to focus on a subject and it becomes too easy to forget about how I’m framing a shot. I focus more on when I’m going to take the picture and do I have the right depth of field.

A great photo doesn’t have to be colorful, or be of a far away land, or even be clear what the object in the photograph is. A beautiful design can be enough.

Leave a Reply

